Gardening and Cheese

I have not updated on my gardening in some time it seems… So I’m moving to correct that now!

The corn continues to grow (and grow!).  It’s almost chest-level now!

The tomatoes are flourishing (and are now staked, at least the full-size one as the cherry toms do not seem to need support yet).

And my pepper plants have finally flowered!! Here’s a pic of the first flower, taken Tuesday.  Although as of the following morning, there was a second bloom right beside it! So exciting!!

 

Here’s a couple pictures of the whole little garden right now too:

 

I also promised some sort of talk about macaroni and cheese.  Now, first of all, I love cheese.  I thought I should just state that.  Macaroni and cheese, then, is just even more heavenly.  Focused on creativity, I really try not (and usually have no inclination) to support any particular products unless the brand is particularly inspirational or doing some kind of good for humankind.  Then again, maybe Kraft is doing both with this:

That’s right– it’s the Kraft Mac N’ Cheese powder– sold separately!! This comes up because I seem to (without entirely trying), be cooking something at least once a week.  While my cheddar broccoli corn bake was a bit more elaborate, I found myself last week with the rare occurrence of having the apartment to myself.  Now, being somewhat lazy in the cooking department (mostly due to poor planning and not thinking about cooking until I am actually hungry), I’ll usually eat whatever’s available– or ingredients.  A roll.  A can of corn.  A slice of cheese.  But I was industrious this particular night and made a box of pasta for myself (which had the nice perk of leftovers for Mom and I for a few more days) and made macaroni and cheese.  I’d been having a semi-bad week (what with the car accident and all) and mac and cheese really is comfort food at its finest.

Let's face it- edible things should probably not be this color. It's a little psychedelic. But it's so good!!

Have I mentioned I’ve been eating a lot of cheese lately?  Now, my food allergies have deprived me of many things over the years.  As of this past winter, I got corn back into my diet for the first time in approximately 20 years.  Upon the successful food challenge test being complete, Mom and I went to the store and I literally bought every corn product I could find that I could have:  corn muffin mix, pop corn, canned corn, corn tortilla shells, corn cereal (I must’ve had at least 4 different varieties of these in the cart), grits… and the list goes on.  I have since fallen in love with corn on the cob and well, now I’m growing it.  We affectionately called this time my “festival of Maize,” as I’d gained something big and was now “making up for lost time” so to say.  Well, as I’ve had to put off my next food challenge for ballet (which sadly ends this week), I decided to branch out on things I know are safe:  ie, cheese.  Most cheeses use all the same ingredients.  So really, there is no reason not to try every kind one can.  It’s become a mission of sorts.  And it’s made the grocery store a fun and exciting place, which it isn’t always for me… in fact it is often just the opposite, reminding me of foods I cannot have, and my limitations.

My diet already consisted of your basic Cheddar and Swiss.  But now?  We’ve added Munster.  And Provolone.  And Colby and Monterey Jack (which I still need to taste separately, as I don’t think the blend did them justice).  It’s the Summer of Cheese! Last night: Feta.  I had actually never had Feta before.  My mouth was so happy.  My hips might not be.  Right now, my mouth is winning.  In the fridge sits a block of Gouda [Update: Gouda is GOOD-A!] and a pack of American cheese.  I can’t remember the last *real* grilled cheese sandwich I had.  Most American cheeses use oils and other additives I can’t have.  I’m more than a little excited.  If only I could grow cheese… I mean, I always have thought cows were cute anyway…

2 Comments

Filed under Life, The Garden

2 responses to “Gardening and Cheese

  1. Garden pictures! Oh, how happy these make me!
    I’m (re)vegan, but I must confess to loving cheese madly. Om nom nom.

    • So glad you enjoyed!! I’ve always wanted to go vegetarian, at least for a while, but have opted not to due to my food allergies and already-restricted diet. But I don’t think I’d ever be able to be vegan due to my obsessive love of dairy! I definitely admire anyone who is!

Leave a Reply

