Food Network and “bright” lemons

Yesterday marked my 101st post.  I’ll get around to details eventually, but in the 3 months since I last posted, I’ve spent the past two living in my grandmother’s house.  Due to Grandma and Deda (what I call my grandfather)–and now Grandma since Deda passed away– needing some extra help, Mom and I have decided to stay here.

I mention this because the biggest creative longing in my heart lately– something I’ve blogged about here before– is: cooking!

Grandma loves the food network, so although we’d normally gravitate to HGTV, we watch a lot of food now.  I’ve come to love it, actually.  Food allergies and all, I’ve come to be excited about the different ingredients.  To wonder about all the tastes I’ve never experienced.

We watch “Chopped” and I’m excited to figure out what all the mystery basket ingredients are. “Is that a fruit? A meat?”  I’ve learned about geoduck and buddha’s hand.  And, slowly, I’d like to think I’m learning about things I don’t usually cook– like fish or new and different meats.

The most exciting thing so far, was last night I realized I’m gaining vocabulary.  There are words and phrases we associate with art.  We talk about light, brightness, contrast, texture.  I can use all these visual words easily to talk about music.  I can easily tell you (or sing to show you) what’s a bright sound.  It’s not really a pitch thing, but a timbre thing– and vocal brightness can often be controlled by the shape of your mouth when you pronounce your vowels.  One of the judges on “Chopped” talked about citrus fruits like lemon adding a “brightness” to the food– and suddenly, it clicked.  I understood something about it I hadn’t before.  I’m moving from fingerpainting to learning technique!

Leave a comment

Filed under Food Ramblings, Life

Leave a Reply

