Vagina Season

Spotlight Monologue

It’s that time of year again!  When I transferred schools in the Spring of 2008, I was excited about and uncertain of what I’d find when I went to see The Vagina Monologues for the first time.  What I found was a whirlwind of emotion– with one monologue making me laugh til my eyes teared, and the next making me out and out feel like crying.  With little exception, the show was a touching tribute and celebration of women everywhere.

When I left the show, however, the most permeating thought I had was– those girls are BRAVE.  And I’d love to work backstage.

The next year, I saw a flyer up for an Auditon/Info session.  I went.  And before I knew it, I was cast.  I became one of those brave girls.  And I fell in love with this production.  This year will be my fourth year celebrating women and fighting to stop violence against them.

Rehearsals start exactly two weeks from tonight– and I can’t wait to see what our little vagina community will be like this year.

The Vagina Workshop
Wear and Say It Lists

Until The
Violence Stops.

({*})

For more information about The Vagina Monologues, and the
V-Day Movement, check out Vday.org.

[and shoutout to Sio who shares the first pic with me!]

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

